On Venturing Forth

I’ve decided that it’s time for me to track down a part-time job. Which is a big deal when you’ve been out of the workforce for a gazillion years. The workaday world seems very very far from my life as a stay-at-home mum.

I’m easing the strain by applying for jobs in congenial environments like the Wellington Library. I love the library system and work it hard, and I can think of many worse things to do than hang out for a few hours several times a week issuing books to people.

It’s not all beer and skittles and chats about books of course. I’ve heard people complaining bitterly about fines and overdue books and fees. But I could deal with that in exchange for a bit of independence and money.

Cross fingers that they’re willing to take a chance on someone who has been out of paid employment for so long. I shall bombard them with applications until I wear them down.

This entry was posted in astrid lindgren, audio books, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to On Venturing Forth

  1. iamroewan says:

    How is the job hunt going? I’m thinking about working again, maybe looking around this fall.

  2. janstra says:

    Slowly. No bites so far. But I’ve only applied for a couple of things. Could you go back to the place you worked before? Or do you want something new?

    • iamroewan says:

      I’m pretty sure they would take me back. But I’m still having pain problems so not sure whether I can handle such a physical job. I would like to go back. Something new would be more exciting though!

      • janstra says:

        Sorry to hear that you’re still sore. Is your hip playing up? New sounds good. That’s what i need as well. But coming up with the something is not so easy…

      • iamroewan says:

        I’ve been poked and prodded and had numerous scans using various technologies. Lots of nasty things have been ruled out. A few minor unrelated things have been discovered. Latest tentative diagnosis is nerve damage caused during the surgery. So, it looks like I’ll just have to continue to live with it. I think going back to work will get me out of my rut and cheer me up even if I hurt from time to time!

        You will find something I’m sure. You’re organized and creative and disciplined. You get along well with other people. You’re a talented writer. There’s something out there that’s right for you.

  3. janstra says:

    That’s crappy Dinie. Maybe a holiday in the sun will cheer you up as well. 🙂 And a fun job for the winter…
    Thank you for the nice words – they make me a bit teary. It’s so easy to forget all that stuff when you’ve been home for a while and it helps to know that someone out there knows that I can do it.

Leave a Reply

