Brain Melt

We’re having another of our semi-regular viral rounds at my place. First Petra, then me. Sometimes I manage to avoid the illness, but mostly I get it in one form or another. Having kids wreaks havoc on the immune system. I hope we’ll all eventually become robust and resistant, but until then, we have colds.

In amongst my self-pity, I’ve been doing some thinking about what to do with my life. My peers are well along in careers these days – they’re teachers and doctors and accountants and such. I am not. Stay-at-home mothering has its perks and many many rewards, but it’s not conducive, or at least it’s not conducive for me, to creating the feeling that I’m being personally productive and using my powers to their fullest. I feel stale and dull and unfulfilled, and really unsure about what I need to do to change that.

It’s disconcerting. No wonder my brain has melted.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Brain Melt

  1. Tracey says:

    As Alex nears school age I am starting to wonder myself what I want to do when I grow up. It really works me up sometimes…I think I have a melted brain too.

    • janstra says:

      It’s really hard to imagine getting back into the workforce after such a long break. And, I’ve never gotten over being tired since Petra was born so my brain is a sad brain. I guess easing into something gently is the way to go…If only I knew what…

Leave a Reply

