So Many Books, So Little Time

I wrote a post not so long ago lamenting the reading slump I’d fallen into. And another one about all the books I wasn’t reading because they haven’t been released yet.

But now, I’m drowning in books. I have 10 on hold and 11 out of the library and a few on my eReader waiting for my attention. I’ve got so many books to read that I’m not quite sure which one to choose first.

I’m usually a one novel at a time person. Occasionally, I’ll interrupt a long novel to race through a short one in a couple of hours. And I sometimes mix non-fiction reading with novel reading. But on the whole, one book at a time is fine. I read so quickly that I know I’ll get to the next one in my pile soon enough.

But right now, I’ve got a stack of books each with a bookmark sticking out of it. I’m reading a couple of cookbooks (yes, I like to read recipes and introductions and nutritional information and suggested pantry lists – I’m odd that way), a book about someone’s year of doing without sugar, another one about meditation for children, and three novels, one of which I’m about half way through.

Today, I set them all aside to whiz through Tolstoy and the Purple Chair by Nina Sankovitch. It’s an account of the author’s year of reading a book every day and writing a review of it for her blog. She was having great difficulty coming to terms with the death of her older sister and decided to read her way back to herself. A quixotic endeavour, but one that makes sense to me as a dedicated reader. Books help you understand yourself and your world as well as providing escape and respite. Sankovitch discusses love and loss and grief and how to find your place in a world that contains such things. I read along tearfully, appreciating her insights.

Tomorrow I will be back to the what to read first dilemma. But sometimes you just have to let the book that grabs you displace all the others.

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

