On Being Six

Being six has its traumatic moments. Petra really really wants things to go her way and feels very hard-done-by when they don’t. Her afternoon went like this:

Petra, rolling on the floor and yelling: “Why do you always say no to everything I want?”
Me and Travis: noncommittal sympathetic noises.
Petra: “I’m going to my secret cubby. You’ll never see me again.”
Petra, stomping off to the corner of the room to find that she’s missing the blanket that serves for a roof: “I’m going to rebuild my secret cubby. And then you’ll never see me again.”
Me and Travis: careful silence.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

