TV or Not TV

I cancelled my Sky subscription several months ago, leaving us with no telly for the first time in more than a decade. Silence fell on the lounge in the evening and I found it strange at first. But, now that I’m used to it, I’m really enjoying the peace. It turns out that TV, even when the volume is way down, is pretty damn intrusive. The screen dominates the lounge and the noise fills up all the spaces.

And, I’ve found that I can stream the tennis and cricket if I really need it. The picture and sound quality’s a bit dodgy at times, and the feed is apt to vanish at crucial moments, leaving me staring at a frozen image until I refresh a couple of times. But I can live with that.

The toughest thing is having to watch the matches live. I’d gotten spoilt by MySky which let me record hours and hours worth of programming for replay at my leisure. I could fast forward through all the ads and other boring bits, and rewind anything I missed. It was like living in the future. I could control time!

I’m firmly back in the olden days now though, having to sit up until all hours to watch Wawrinka finally win against Djokovic, and Nadal beat Federer for the umpteenth time. Luckily the men’s final is tonight – I’m knackered.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

