And We’re Done

The painters have packed up and moved on, leaving us with two beautifully clean and fresh bedrooms. We’re going to paint the insides of the wardrobes this weekend. And then we’ll be able to move in and spread ourselves out properly.

At the moment, most of our clothes are packed away in plastic storage tubs because we couldn’t hang them up. My wardrobe since we moved, has consisted of two pairs of jeans, a few t-shirts, and a jersey or two, and a couple of hoodies. I’ll be very glad to see the rest of my stuff again.

The painter asked me how long we’d been living here and I was surprised to realise that it’s less than a month. It feels like we’ve been here for much longer – it’s the right place for us I think, and we’ve just settled down like we’ve always been here. And this despite the teething problems with solvent smelling carpets and unexpected mould. Once we’re organised, we’re going to be able to relax and hang out here, knowing that we’re not going anywhere for a good long while.

This is wonderful, and disconcerting at the same time. I’ve had somewhere else to be, somewhere more exotic and adventurous, for almost as long as I can remember. I’m not quite sure what life will look like without that constant questing for something different, something better. It’ll be more restful I hope. And I’ll be more aware and noticing of the actual present moments of my life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

