Not that I’m anal or anything but…

I visited the Ngaio branch of the public library for the first time this afternoon. And I wasn’t impressed. The children’s picture books are stacked one behind the other in pocket-style shelving, meaning that you have to flick through the books instead of just running your eyes along the shelves. Not a good start.

And it got much worse once I started flicking. So many of the books were mis-shelved that I wondered at first whether they were alphabetised at all. Good luck if you’re looking for something specific – it could be buried anywhere in the children’s section. Before I retreated, defeated by the disarray, I reshelved a couple as a gesture towards order, because it turns out that I really am that anal when it comes to books and libraries.

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

