Patrick Rothfuss: An Interview With Mary Robinette Kowal

An Interview With Mary Robinette Kowal.

Long time no post. It’s been too cold here recently to hang out in the bedroom where the computer lives. And Petra is currently on a “don’t be boring, mum” kick. Sitting in front of the computer is the last word in boring for her, so I’m only snatching computer time when she’s sleeping or out.

I’ve been meaning to post a link to this interview for weeks now, because both Patrick Rothfuss and Mary Robinette Kowal are funny and smart. Rothfuss is the writer of the eye-destroyingly huge novels, The Name of the Wind and Wise Man’s Fear and Mary Robinette Kowal is a puppeteer, short-story writer, and writer of two novels set in the Regency period, which are inspired by Jane Austen, but contain domestic, small-scale magic. I want to read them, but my local library has not had the good taste to stock them for me.

Best parts:
1) the casual use of the word “erimitic” which I assume from context means something like “hermit-like”. A quick google search confirms my guess.

Patrick Rothfuss: So you mean you actually meet up with friends to write?

Mary Robinette Kowal: I do. Usually at my local coffee shop – which contributed to the aforementioned weight gain – but that doesn’t always work out. What I’ve lately been doing are virtual hangouts via Google+. We do 45-minutes of writing, followed by 15 minutes of chat. It’s great because it allows each writer to retain control of her own space but also socialize. Plus, the power of peer pressure means that everyone winds up being productive. Laura Ann Gilman said, “It takes the lonely out of writing.” She’s totally right.

PR: That’s something I’ve been struggling with for years. I have some pretty serious erimitic tendencies, but the solitary nature of the profession still gets to me.

MRK: Is the beard an outward representation of your erimitic aspirations? And really? Did you just really use erimitic in cold blood?

PR: Yeah. That’s how I roll.

MRK: And that’s why I like you.

2) MKR’s sobering comment that in Jane Austen’s time, they didn’t have a word for or any need of rubbish bins because everything could be reused, burned, eaten, composted, or some such thing. Imagine living a life that didn’t produce the mountains of waste we create every day without even thinking about it.

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

