Books, Books, and More Books

Petra has become an avid listener to bedtime stories and has graduated from picture books to chapter books. She’s all over Enid Blyton’s Enchanted Wood series. And we’ve read lots of the old faithfuls of young children’s literature. Winnie the Pooh and Pippi Longstocking, neither of whom appealed to her much, The Wombles, Paddington Bear, Olga da Polga, Mrs Pepperpot, and we’re currently working through Mr Popper’s Penguins.

Keeping ahead of her is proving a bit tricky because she’s so voracious. And so I need something more. Any half-remembered delights from your childhoods that I could dust off and share with Petra would be gratefully received.

This entry was posted in Books, Petra and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Books, Books, and More Books

  1. iamroewan says:

    I know these are terribly old-fashioned and most are likely still a bit old for Petra but here’s a list just off the top of my head of books I read multiple times the first few years after I started school: Eight Cousins, Heidi, Robin Hood, Robinson Caruso (spelling?), The Swiss Family Robinson, the Hardy Boys series, the Tom Swift series (but I liked Hardy Boys better), Black Beauty (this has to have been one of my absolute favourite books), The Black Stallion series (I loved horse books), Pinnocchio, Tarzan, and Grimm’s Fairy Tales. I also really liked Tom Sawyer and Huckleberry Finn but I didn’t read them until I was into my teens.

    • Janettes says:

      I liked most of those things when I was young as well (I’ve never bumped into Tom Swift or Eight Cousins). I wasn’t put off by the writing style of the older books or by their length. It’ll be interesting to see what Petra thinks of them when she’s older. If they’re too old-fashioned now, or if they still work.
      i suspect they’ll still work for the right kind of kid. Because a lot of the classics of small-child fiction are old as well, and seem none the worse for it. Most of the stuff we’re reading regularly is from the first half of the last century. Way back in the olden days in Petra’s terms.

Leave a Reply

