The Politics of Women’s Choices: Let Women Choose | The Broad Side

Women are not lesser creatures who lack the capacity to make choices. We are not simpletons who cannot think through complicated decisions. We are not third class citizens, with men and our own uteruses taking precedence over our wholeness. We are complex people of tremendous intelligence, capable and competent. We are informed and experienced. We do not need to be directed by men who feel entitled to rule over us and rule over our bodies by force of law or simply by force.I don’t care who you are. You can be my senator, my doctor, my pharmacist, my spiritual leader. You may be my father, my employer, even my husband. YOU DO NOT GET TO MAKE MY CHOICES FOR ME. I choose childbearing. I choose knowledge. I choose whether to have sex or not. I choose because it is my body, my life, my mind, and my soul. YOU DO NOT GET TO CHOOSE FOR ME.

via The Politics of Women’s Choices: Let Women Choose | The Broad Side.

A response to the increasing pressure on reproductive freedoms and choices that women in the US are facing. The religious right has moved from attacking abortion rights to attempts to limit access to birth control. It’s alarming stuff.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

