Writing Homework

I’m in the thick of the final section of my writing course and am suffering from a combination of deadline stress, stage fright, and distress about the subject matter I’ve chosen to write about. I have to write two 1500 word scenes, focusing on description and dialogue, an outline for each scene, and back stories for each of the main characters. That’s not a lot of words, but coming up with suitable scenes has caused me some trouble. I got desperate yesterday and pulled a book of writing prompts off my bookcase. I opened it at random and found myself looking at a section about violence. “I can do violence,” I thought. And so, here am I today, writing an outline of a scene about a husband beating his wife, and starting the back stories for the couple. The man’s back story has me writing about the physical and emotional damage violent parents inflict on their children. After an hour or so of this, I’ve had to take a break for a cup of tea. And I haven’t even made it to the wife yet – she’s going to have lost a child, something I’m not much looking forward to writing about.

Next time I pick a prompt at random, I hope it features puppies and kittens and flowers or some such…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writing Homework

  1. iamroewan says:

    Ow, that sounds difficult. I have difficulty reading such scenes, let alone writing one. There is no good ending to hope for.

    • Janettes says:

      She’s going to walk out the door, which is the best ending I can give her, but the baby will still be dead….It’s all rather stressful and I’m procrastinating.

Leave a Reply

