Men In Suits and Women in Frocks

As we drove into town this afternoon, Petra asked me, “What are all the men in uniform with the ribbons round their necks doing?” “That’s how men dress when they go to work in offices,” I told her. “The ribbons are called ties.” “They have black shoes and white shirts as well don’t they?” “Yes.” “Why do they do that?” I don’t have an answer to that – why do men all look the same?

Petra’s getting very clothes conscious these days. She wants me to wear high heels and skirts. I had to do some fast talking to get my tall shoes back in the wardrobe yesterday when I got dressed for our play date. Fortunately Petra was convinced by my argument that high heels would be no good for traipsing around our friends’ back yard. But sooner or later I’ll find myself clomping around the town all dressed up in clothes I haven’t worn regularly since I was a working lass, because Petra’s all about the pretty. She liked the top I was wearing today and told me several times that I looked pretty. And she suggested that it would look even better with some leggings. I explained that my skinny jeans were just as good but she was unconvinced. She’s right on trend of course, but I just can’t bring myself to wear leggings. For one thing, I was there the first time when they were all the go in the 80’s, and I don’t really feel the need to relive my teens. And for another, Petra wears tunics or dresses and leggings all the time, and I don’t want to dress like a preschooler either.

This entry was posted in Petra and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

