On Sharing

Petra’s learning and growing and having new experiences all the time, and she’s very eager to share her new skills and enthusiasms with the people around her.

Yesterday, she encouraged me to drive off to Makara Beach on our way home from taking Travis to work. We wound our way down the valley looking at horses, geese, cows, sheep, pukeko, and paradise ducks. I admired all that we passed, while Petra sat in the back shrieking, “I knew you’d love it. I knew you’d love it,” over and over. When we arrived at the beach, she led me to all the signs and walked me along the path above the beach, and helped me collect a couple of stones and feathers to bring home. She was so pleased and proud to be able to show me something she’d enjoyed. It was lovely.

And today, she heard about the storm threatening the country over the weekend, and suggested that if it snows, she and Daddy could drive me to the snow. “I can show you how to make snowballs,” she said.

Her desire for Travis and me to have as much fun as she does, is thoroughly endearing and very touching.

This entry was posted in Petra and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On Sharing

  1. She sounds like a lovely kid. That sense of emotional generosity is fantastic.

    • Janettes says:

      Yes, she is lovely. And “emotional generosity” is a lovely phrase to describe her. I’m going to steal it. 🙂

  2. Hey, we both blogged about the joy of sharing today. I guess that desire starts young. Like Petra, sometimes I feel like shouting, “I knew you’d love it!”

    • Janettes says:

      I enjoyed your post about the rewards of connecting with your readers. And yes, oh to be as enthusiastic about ones enthusiasms as a three-year-old…

Leave a Reply

