Simplification

This latest move has prompted a bout of soul searching about how much clutter I have around me, physical and emotional, and about how I spend my time. There’s nothing like boxing up your stuff for the 6th time in five years to fill you with a distaste for material possessions. And there’s nothing like trying to cram in an independent life around the requirements of your small child to make you very conscious of how much time you fritter away.

So, I’m working on rearranging my life. I’ve done some research, because even a simplified life must contain research. I was spurred along initially by a chance internet find – I clicked on a link and found myself at Zen Habits reading a list of suggestions about making life more simple. And I’ve been reading Simplify Your Life by Elaine St James. The suggestions range from take your shoes off at the front door so you don’t have to spend as much time cleaning the floor, to focus on doing work that you really want to do.

Baby steps are all I’ve taken to this point, but they’ve helped. I’ve gotten rid of a lot of old clothing, and sorted through some books to take to the second-hand bookstore. The biggest thing I’ve done so far though, is invisible. I’ve slowed my email to almost nothing by unsubscribing from everything and drastically cut down on the blogs and newspapers I read. Letting go of my information addiction is surprisingly difficult. What will I do instead? What will I think about? But I’m slowly backing away from the computer.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Simplification

  1. iamroewan says:

    Yes, the runaway email subscriptions are an incredibly bad time waster. I unsubscribed from a whole whack of lists about six weeks ago. A few of them are still emailing me so I’m going to have to have another go at it.

    • Janettes says:

      I’m not even quite sure how I ended up with so many subscriptions – but the emails were pouring in. It’s a relief to be free of it. I haven’t managed to get rid of everything either, but I’ve made a good start.

Leave a Reply

