Teeth, teeth, and more teeth

I went off to the dentist this morning to get my root canal. It’s a stressful thing to contemplate and I was plenty nervous as I climbed into the chair. The dentist did his best to make it as pleasant as possible, even putting on some music. He choose Garth Brooks – whether that helped or hindered I leave for you to determine. Then he put a stretchy blue dental dam in place, gave me a wedge to bite on so that I could relax my mouth, and shot me full of anaesthetic. He was gentle and the drilling was intermittent, giving me time to recover, so on the whole it wasn’t too painful an experience. More unpleasant in the anticipation than the actuality.

Unfortunately, the digging around revealed damage to the outside of the tooth as well, too much damage to be repaired by a root canal. The tooth will have to be extracted and replaced. That will involve a trip to an oral surgeon and probably some thousands of dollars. The dentist filled the hole he’d made and sent me off with a report, a pile of x-rays, and a recommendation that I get it done as soon as I can. I’m waiting to hear from my usual dentist this afternoon so that we can plan the necessary appointments.

I’m not sure what’s worse about this process – the stress of dealing with people poking around in my mouth, or the horrendous cost of it all.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Teeth, teeth, and more teeth

  1. My sympathies. Been there; done that. If you’re headed for an implant, the bill will probably be the most painful part, especially if you don’t have insurance to cover it.

    • Janettes says:

      I don’t have insurance so I’m on the hook for the cost. Shame. I don’t like the sound of having a screw inserted into my jaw either, but I expect it’ll be like the root canal – worse to imagine than to have done.

  2. iamroewan says:

    Oh, no! That’s cringeworthy.
    But…if it’s any consolation, I have heard that dental implants are a much better solution than bridges and false teeth.

    • Janettes says:

      Yes, it does seem like the best option – a bridge damages the surrounding teeth and no tooth at all puts pressure on the other teeth on that side. But still…..
      I’m getting old all of a sudden requiring glasses and now major dental work. Not good!

Leave a Reply

