On Wearing Glasses

They came earlier than I expected and I raced to the store to collect them as soon as I heard they’d arrived. I wanted to start wearing them, and reading again, as soon as possible.

I’ve just read an article online and now I’m trying my hand at typing. I’ve never worn glasses before and it’s a decidedly odd experience. They’re quite small, so I have to point my eyes directly at what I’m trying to read instead of reading out of the bottom or corners of my eyes as I usually must. And because my long vision is fine, lifting my eyes to glance at Petra or the TV or whatever makes my eyes crawl horribly as everything rushes in on them.

But, the horrible straining headache I’ve had for a couple of weeks now has eased already. And it’s exciting to see sharp, clear print – it’s been months, maybe years since I last had that pleasure.

The optometrist tells me that it will take my eyes a few days to get used to the change. Once they do, I’ll be reading up a storm to make up for the lost time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On Wearing Glasses

  1. iamroewan says:

    A few days? Maybe. >:}

    It took me longer. But the joy of being able to read easily again made up for the bouts of vertigo I would sometimes get even when not wearing the glasses.

    • Janettes says:

      Cross fingers for a few days then!! My head felt very strange when I went to bed last night. But that’s a small price to pay for the ability to read easily again. I would have happily come home with Dame Edna glasses in hot pink with big spirals on the frames if that’s all that had been available, just so that I could read again.

Leave a Reply

