‘Edward Gorey’s Sensibility Is Growing Like Nightshade’

Edward Gorey’s Sensibility Is Growing Like Nightshade – NYTimes.com.

My brain is still on hiatus and I don’t want to spend my time blogging about how I can’t blog, so here’s another little thing that I enjoy to tide us all over until my brain returns from its vacation.

A wise friend of mine introduced me to Edward Gorey via The Doubtful Guest a good 15 years ago.  She sent me the book with a small note telling me that I was the only person she knew that she thought would appreciate its humour. I don’t know if she was right about her other friends, but she was certainly right about me.  I loved the gothic, neo-Victorian setting, the beautifully detailed illustrations, and the deadpan ghoulishness of the stories.

The Doubtful Guest is about a random visitor who arrives, won’t leave and lies around the house in various inconvenient places in a state of permanent gloom.  Much like living with a teenager, as Travis commented when he read it.

I’m also very fond of The Gashlycrumb Tinies.  It begins: ‘A is for Amy who fell down the stairs. B is for Basil assaulted by bears.’  And goes on from there with each calamity illustrated in lovely, macabre detail.

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ‘Edward Gorey’s Sensibility Is Growing Like Nightshade’

  1. HaleyLynnShoemaker says:

    I very much enjoy Edward Gorey. His illustrations for John Bellairs books are my favorite! The two of them were ever-present in my childhood (which could explain alot). Also, you mentioned this: no one wants to read a blog about how someone can’t blog. Even though that’s a thought that should have been obvious, I had never thought of it in that way before. My postaday blog was getting really stale, so I hope you don’t mind if I take a leaf out of your (edward gorey) book. For some reason it just hadn’t occured to me to include my many and various internet discoveries in my blog! So, thanks for the (unwittingly given) inspiration!

    • Janettes says:

      You’re very welcome! I’ve been making shameless use of other people’s writings since I discovered the WordPress ‘pressthis’ feature. It’s very handy when I’m running short of inspiration.

Leave a Reply

