What’s it going to be today?

Yesterday, New Zealand won an ODI (one-day international) at the 12th time of asking, in front of about three people at Westpac Stadium, aka the Cake Tin, just down the motorway from our place. We thought about going along, but Petra’s not really up for several hours of cricket-watching at this stage. And neither New Zealand nor Pakistan are exactly setting the world afire with their prowess. So we stayed home. Petra spent the time productively, getting reacquainted with her toys, Travis took a nap, and I noodled around the internet looking for ideas to spark a blog post. My find was the Patti Smith interview, so I was productive as well.

I’ve written at least one post every day for 24 days now and am really enjoying the challenge. Having to come up with something new daily involves a bit of research and a bit of forward planning and means staying alert for ideas for a possible post. All of which changes how I go about the writing – I have to be more conscious and more disciplined to get it done. It’s also changed what I’m writing. There are after all, only so many “my goodness Petra’s wonderful” posts I can write, even though Petra is, of course, the most wonderful thing of all. So I’m writing about ideas, not just descriptions of my life. And that’s fun and stimulating.

Increased blog activity has also lead to increased writing and thinking activity in other places. I keep a small book for Petra in which I write down cute, or interesting, or brilliant things that she says and does – I updated that last night. And I wrote in my diary last night, figuring out in the process a couple of useful things about the various relationships in my house.

Work does seem to lead to more work.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s it going to be today?

  1. trayflow says:

    I haven’t commented much, but I have enjoyed reading all of your posts. I need to do more writing about ideas as well. Maybe once I get the rest of our trip posted I can focus on other things.

    • Janettes says:

      Thanks! I’m feeling a bit empty-headed today, so I’m not sure how I’ll go on the ideas front when it comes time to write the next post.
      I’m always happy to see your trip photos. I looked through the new ones yesterday and they made me wistful for my traveling time. I loved Spain and your photos of it are beautiful.

Leave a Reply

