Post Weaning

Things are different.

I spent 40 weeks being pregnant, and 2 years, 11 months, and a couple of weeks breastfeeding. Almost four years of being in an altered hormonal state.

Petra’s been fully weaned for several weeks now and I’m noticing changes. Obvious ones like my shrinking, sagging, and very sore breasts. And more subtle, unexpected ones. My first period post-weaning has been very heavy and I’ve felt lousy for days. The growth patterns of my body hair have changed (sped up unfortunately). I wonder whether the hair on my head will start falling out – I didn’t lose much after Petra was born, unlike other mums I know.

And my brain has come back. I feel as if I’ve suddenly woken up after a long time in a dream state. I’m thinking again, having ideas, arguing with and reacting to things I read and see. It’s very exciting.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Post Weaning

  1. trayflow says:

    Watch out world, no more baby brain! Meanwhile, I still have trouble forming complete sentences. 🙂

    For the past month or so I have been going through that terrible “hair falling out” stage. I hate it. Hair everywhere. I am hoping it slows.

    As for the shrinking and sagging…I feel you here. Try having two!

    • Blog Owner says:

      Ah, I barely even knew my own name for the first six months after Petra was born. All those middle-of-the-night feeds did me in. How’s Alex sleeping? Are you getting a few uninterrupted hours a night now?
      The whole sagging thing is very sad – I’m hoping for some spring back later, but I’m probably out of luck.

Leave a Reply

