Then and Now

Carla, Petra, and Janette at the Gardens

This is me in late-March of this year. We did a family lunch/trip to the Gardens for Kelvin’s birthday. The photos from the Gardens were the last in a series of events that confirmed that I needed to lose weight, that I needed to lose it now,and that just waiting for it to magically disappear by itself wasn’t proving a particularly effective strategy. My sister is a similar build to me but six inches taller and correspondingly bigger, so to notice that I was so much larger than her was the final jolt I needed to get a move on.

Petra and Me, October 2010


Petra and Me, October 2010

These aren’t very good photos and I’m not sure that they really convey the extent of the change. But this is what I look like now. Pretty much the way I did before I first got pregnant. Apart from the tenaciously poochy belly I’m now sporting of course. That may be with me forever. As will the thickening of my torso caused by the pregnancy. I’m ok with looking different though – I’ve had a baby, my body did an amazing wonderful crazy thing and I’m comfortable with the changes pregnancy caused.

Looking different is one thing, however, and being fat quite another. I feel so much better being slimmer – younger, healthier, more in control of my world – it’s wonderful. Now I just have to muster up the wherewithal to make the changes stick.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Then and Now

  1. trayflow says:

    Well done, you look great!
    It is amazing the difference in Petra from one photo to another as well.

  2. iamroewan says:

    I remember those collar bones. Nice! Maybe your shape will continue to firm up over time as your skin adapts to having less body to cover.

    • Janette says:

      Yes, I’m pleased to see some bones again – they were awol for a while.
      I’m hoping for gradual firming, but I’m not holding my breath. Corsets might be the answer!

Leave a Reply

