Weight Loss and Clothes

I’ve just spent a couple of hours dragging Petra round a few clothing stores. She was remarkably cooperative, hanging out in the changing rooms and climbing on seats and swinging on curtains while I tried things on and worked hard to prevent myself impulse buying. She did need to pee half way through one trying on session so I rushed her out to the toilet, still wearing the $300 silk top I’d just put on. “A good wearability test,” said one of the the woman serving me. Putting the top back was hard – it was beautiful and draped just right, covering all my bumps and bulges. But I was strong…

I came home with much more prosaic items. A couple of tops to go underneath my suddenly alarmingly low-cut t-shirts. Chestal shrinkage means that I’ve got nothing to hold them up with. And a black wrap cardigan thing.

Fortunately, drapey floaty not-too-tight things seem to be the order of the day in the stores right now, so I should be able to find flattering stuff to buy. Jeans and pants on the other hand, could be a problem. Tight, tighter, and tightest seems to be the order of the day. Not a good look.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Weight Loss and Clothes

  1. iamroewan says:

    Aha! You edited this after the email went out. Anyway, I’m impressed with the odd-numbered size. There’s no way I’ll ever be able to do odd numbers again.

  2. iamroewan says:

    Oh, I also meant to say that I like your new banner and page background.

    • Janette says:

      I was a bit surprised by the odd number as well – but pleased. I went shopping again today and this time I took Travis with me as my fashion adviser. He’s a good person to shop with if you want permission to lash out and spend lots of money because his motto is, “if you like it buy it.” I took his advice and made a big hole in my clothing budget.
      I like my background too – it’s a photo of the shelves I had in Dunedin. I loved my shelves……

  3. Janette says:

    Nope – no built-in shelves, just the two Ikea bookcases we had in Vancouver plus a couple extra that we acquired in Costa Rica – oh, and one that had been lurking at my mum’s for years. All the books fit – just – but it’s not the same as a room lined with shelves on two sides. I thought I’d really made it when I finally got my own library room….

Leave a Reply

