Random Jottings

A couple of things I'm thinking about at the moment.

1)  Miss Petra was a model citizen on Thursday night/Friday.  She went to bed at 6pm, didn't wake up three hours later for a cuddle and chat the way she has been most nights recently, and slept until 8am the next morning.  Bliss!  Then on Friday, she suddenly decided that she would start using her potty.  Three pees in the pot and none on the carpet.  We've been potty training in a desultory way for a few weeks, not pushing too hard but having the potty around and talking about it and sitting her down on it.  Petra hasn't been particularly interested, but now that she's tried, she's off.  Today, she's peed in the potty several times without being prompted.  She's so clever and so pleased with herself.  It's very cute.

2)  I have a Facebook etiquette conundrum.  My father-in-law has friended me.  And I don't want to be his friend.  Knowing that my mother is reading my status updates makes me tongue-tied enough, without having my in-laws (who I don't much like) looking over my virtual shoulder.  It seems churlish of me to ignore him though, and I don't want to create a diplomatic incident or damage our real-world detente.  So, I'm not sure what to do.  I'm currently taking the coward's way out and simply pretending I can't see the pending request.  But I'll have to make a decision sooner or later.  Aarrgghh.  

Read and post comments

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Random Jottings

  1. Then says:

    If I remember correctly, with Facebook's magical, high-tech security features you can specifically exclude a person or persons from seeing certain things. I have never done it, but it may be worth looking into. You could friend him but them exclude him from seeing status updates, etc but letting him see photos, for example. Or you could go about just ignoring….and see if he tries again.

  2. Janette says:

    Yes, I think the privacy settings are the answer – a nice half-measure between ignoring him entirely and giving him access to everything. I've never used them either, but I'll investigate.

  3. Janette says:

    Just had a fiddle with Facebook and found that it's easy to choose who gets to see each update. Thanks for reminding me to check the privacy settings.

  4. Zotta says:

    Yes, you could go through all 50+ privacy settings(and I've done that),but my gut feeling is "ignore" and have a talk with him re: You're soincredibly flattered he wants to friend you but you really needto maintain some boundaries of privacy within your nuclear family,"I hope you understand," blah blah blah– however nicely you want to say itand I know how nice you are. Not sure if this is right for you but just imho.

  5. Janette says:

    That is also a very good solution and one that has the advantage of letting me be upfront about what I'm doing. Thanks

Leave a Reply

