Dunedin: It’s all right here

The weather has been fabulous, amazing, stunning – 20 degrees today and August is usually the coldest month in this part of the world.  Lambs frisk, our camellias and irises are in bloom and the rhododendrons and daffodils aren't far behind.  We've visited beaches and gardens, spotted albatross on the peninsula, and shown Petra around the town.  I'm loving it here.

Here are a few photos from our outings.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Dunedin: It’s all right here

  1. Jack Yan says:

    I love Taiaroa Head (here’s me writing about the area in the pre-blog days), and you had better weather there than we did up on Te Ika a Maui!

  2. Janette says:

    Yes, the weather's better down here in the canoe at the moment – that could change any time of course!Nice article about Dunedin – you do a good job of getting at that indefinable something that makes Dunedin special. And the photos of Tunnel Beach are fabulous. I haven't taken Travis there, but now I think I need to.

  3. Jack Yan says:

    We had rain today! And thank you for your nice words about my article and photographs—all done on 35 mm film. As you can tell, I was very impressed with the area.

  4. Zotta says:

    Thrilled you're having a lovely summer. Who does the gardening?

  5. Then says:

    What a great winter. Those are the kind of temps we have been having here in the northern hemisphere. You live in such a beautiful part of the world. And look at big girl Petra 🙂 She is gorgeous.

  6. Janette says:

    We're having winter right now – that's why the weather is so surprising. The public gardens have a staff of who knows how many. When I was a student, I used to walk to university through the gardens and wish I was a gardener instead of a thesis-writer. These days, I could do with some of them at my place to sort out my sadly overgrown and neglected trees.

  7. Janette says:

    Thanks!! Yes, Petra's all grown up these days. She's turned into a toddler, complete with conversation, cuddles and giggly games as well as a really short fuse. It's full-on, but lots of fun.

Leave a Reply

