40 Years

In honour of my birthday, which was on Tuesday, here's a song by the Phoenix Foundation.

The guitar and vocal are very characteristic of the slightly alternative pop music produced in New Zealand.  And the video is great – lots of odd goings-on on a beautiful Wellington beach.

My birthday was most pleasant.  It was lovely to have a family-filled birthday after 10 years away.  I had a grown-up girls' lunch – no Petra, good food, and even a little wine.  It's been so long since I've had anything to drink that a few sips was all I needed to feel a bit tipsy.  And we all had dinner at my mum's place.  I got to see a cousin I haven't seen for seven or eight years and hang out with all my other Dunedin rellies.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 40 Years

  1. Zotta says:

    Reminds me of our beloved Flight of the Conchords. Happy 40!

  2. Janette says:

    Thank you. 40's a bit daunting actually. I remember my parents turning 40 and they seemed so old, but now it's my turn.We've been watching season two of Flight of the Conchords. It's very funny. They're so deadpan and silly. Murray is my favourite character. I've met people like him, even down to the juicy New Zealand accent.

  3. Zotta says:

    Turning 40 I think you don't want to be all alone. I wasn't planning to make much of it but was surprised

Leave a Reply

