QotD: Have You Ever Walked Out of a Movie?

Have you ever walked out of a movie?
Submitted by Jack Yan.

Yes.  Silence of the Lambs.  Anthony Hopkins freaked me out so much that I only lasted about 20 minutes.  He hadn't done anything except stand in his cell chittering his teeth at Jodie Foster but the thought of what he might do was too much for me and I had to leave.  It wasn't the movie itself that drove me away, but rather my own over-active imagination. 

All this time later I still find Anthony Hopkins creepy even when he's only playing a likeably eccentric kiwi in The World's Fastest Indian.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to QotD: Have You Ever Walked Out of a Movie?

  1. Jack Yan says:

    I am glad I saw Silence of the Lambs some time after I had seen many other Hopkins movies then!

  2. Roewan says:

    I have avoided seeing Silence of the Lambs ever since the first trailer came out. I don't creep out that easily but this particular sort of movie just makes me want to run away, far far away!

  3. Luna Lunera says:

    It's like the Oompa-Loompas from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (the Johnny Depp version). They creep me out so much! I can't watch the movie or think about them.

  4. Janette says:

    Yes, I've never been able to look at him the same way again, so I tend to avoid his movies – silly I know. I did enjoy him in Remains of the Day though. I got so immersed in the movie that I forgot about Hannibal Lecter.

  5. Janette says:

    I should also have stayed far far away. I don't even know why I went – I'm a total wimp when it comes to the slow-building menace type of movie. I learned my lesson though and I avoid that kind of thing like the plague now.

  6. Janette says:

    Interesting! I didn't have a problem with them but you're not alone in finding them very creepy. Is it that they're all the same, or is it the singing?

  7. Jack Yan says:

    When I was a child, I found the ones in the Gene Wilder version creepy. I think it was the coloured faces.

  8. Luna Lunera says:

    I think it's both… plus their size, their clothes, their faces…

  9. Janette says:

    So everything about them in other words! 🙂 That's how I felt about Anthony Hopkins.

Leave a Reply

