Tongue-Tied

I haven't yet figured out how to be a blogger now that I'm back in Dunedin.  Costa Rica was exotic for me; I was a stranger in a strange land and the most mundane of activities brought with it the possibility of adventure.  But now I'm home, and home is just home.  I arrived here, moved into my house, and sank into a kind of wordless contentment with no blogging, no journalling and not even much emailing. 

I love being here.  I have little spurts of happiness at odd moments – when I look at my freshly painted and varnished, newly flat-ceilinged, and spring-cleaned lounge, when I drive through the Dunedin streets looking at lovingly restored villas and at native trees and shrubs, when I visit the beach or the Otago Peninsula, when I hang out in the familiar cafes and shops, when I spend time with family.  But I don't know how to write about it.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tongue-Tied

  1. Jack Yan says:

    I think it’s a mindset thing. Before, you were writing as a Kiwi abroad, in a way pointing out the differences between what you grew up with and what you were seeing. But along that path you gained a lot of non-Kiwi readers. It might be useful and entertaining for them to learn what they might see as different in your everyday life.

  2. Janette says:

    Yes, that's true. What's ordinary for me will be very different for my North American friends. I just need to figure out a way to step back from my own familiarity to find the uniqueness of the place….

  3. Jack Yan says:

    Ooh, I know: how about seeing if you can attend one of the ID Dunedin fashion shows this weekend? Or at least see if there are some events in town tied to it. It’s always a vibrant time of the year. From memory, the jazz festival was once in town this time in March, and there’s an English car rally that tends to start from the Octagon. (Hope they are still running and not victim to the technocrats’ manufactured recession.)

  4. Janette says:

    Fashion is one of Dunedin's things isn't it. I love all the locally-owned designer stores and have done a bit of shopping since we got here. NZ clothes are much more interesting and funky than Canadian clothes.I've been to that car rally in the past – I couldn't remember when it was though. I'll have to look out for advertising for it. We could take Petra down for a wander round the pits before the races start and it gets too loud for her.I've not seen anything about a jazz festival – but I haven't looked very hard. Time to start reading the ODT more carefully perhaps.

Leave a Reply

