Just in Time

Travis is back from South Africa, just in time to miss an armed robbery in the company's office in Pretoria.  Three men with guns entered the building after hours, tied up everyone who was still working, and stole laptops and monitors.  Fortunately, they didn't hurt anyone, but just took their loot and left.  The whole office is in shock.  As are we.  If Travis had been in Pretoria still, he'd have been there because he worked late most nights.

It makes me glad to be in Dunedin where it's okay for our neighbours, having met us once for about 20 minutes, to give me a key to their house for a weekend so that I can feed the cat and water the tomatoes.  And where the various firms Carla dealt with to get our Costa Rican container through customs waited patiently for me to wander in to their offices to pay them instead of worrying about invoicing or sending out bills or demanding money on the spot from Carla.  Everyone is very trusting, which seems a bit odd as well as very heartwarming after all my time away.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just in Time

  1. Then says:

    Very scary. Sure glad he was home safe and not still in the office.

  2. Janette says:

    Yes, me too. I worry about him when he's there because SA seems so violent – if he goes back again I'll worry even more.Feeling safe is wonderful. I didn't realise what I was missing until I came back. People here are so friendly and interested and have a strong sense of community. I'm so glad to be here.

Leave a Reply

