Me Me Me Meme

Last list for this year end, I promise.  I liked this one though, so I borrowed it from Glamour Mama and Janette.

1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before?  Emigrated with my little family to New Zealand.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?  I don't make resolutions.  But this year I want to write regularly and start a pilates class.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?  No.

4. Did anyone close to you die?  No.

5. What countries did you visit?  I lived in Costa Rica and New Zealand and visited Canada for a month.

6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008?  Strong tendons.

7. What dates from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?  September 17, the date we left Costa Rica.  October 19 the date of our arrival here in Dunedin.  December 12, the day we took possession of our new house.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?  Deciding to come to New Zealand and managing the logistics of the move.  We had to leave Costa Rica, then Canada, before establishing ourselves in New Zealand.

9. What was your biggest failure?  Being a sometimes grumpy and impatient wife.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?  Not until we arrived in New Zealand and I commenced catching viruses one after the other.

11. What was the best thing you bought?  Our fabulous new house.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?  Travis, for remaining patient and unflappable through all the changes.  Petra, for just being Petra.  All my friends in Canada.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?  A few American politicians and their followers.

14. Where did most of your money go?  Our shiny new mortgage.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?  Moving into my house.  Seeing my first movie since Petra's birth with Dinie.  Hanging out with friends in Vancouver.  The Vancouver Public Library – I love the library.

16. What song will always remind you of 2008?  "Electric Worry" by Clutch, hard rock to put Petra to sleep.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder? happier
b) thinner or fatter? thinner.  This time last year I was about six weeks post-partum.
c) richer or poorer? richer

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?  Sleep. 

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?  Worried about my mothering ability.

20. How did you spend Christmas?  Watched Petra and Olivia open piles of gifts.  Then had Christmas lunch and a barbecue dinner with my family. 

21. Did you fall in love in 2008?  I may just have fallen in love with my new house.

22. What was your favorite TV program?  Didn't watch a lot of TV.  Travis and I did watch the first season of Babylon 5 on DVD.  I liked it as much the second time around.  Although it gave me a scary time's passing moment when the main villain appeared and I thought, "that looks like the bad guy but it can't be because he's much too young."  Of course it was him.

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?  No.

24. What was the best book you read?  "What Mothers Do" by Naomi Stadlen for research and reassurance and "The Graveyard Book" by Neil Gaiman for play.

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?  All the old songs I listened to as a child that started playing in my head after Petra was born.

26. What did you want and get?  A house and car.

27. What did you want and not get?  A good night's sleep.

28. What was your favorite film of this year?  I only saw one film in a theatre, Burn After Reading, and I was underwhelmed by it.

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?  Brunch at Grano De Oro in San Jose with Travis and Petra.  I turned 39.

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?  If the fighting and dying had stopped in the Middle East and Africa, and Iraq and Afghanistan.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?  If it fits, wear it.

32. What kept you sane?  Travis, my sister, blogs. 

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?  I can't decide.

34. What political issue stirred you the most?  The US election in general.

35. Who did you miss?  My Vancouver friends.

36. Who was the best new person you met?  A couple of cute toddlers who were babies last time I saw them.

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008.  You can't control everything, so learn to go with the flow.

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.  Cheesy, I know, but I spent a lot of time singing this to Petra.  She also loved Willie Nelson's version.

Why are there so many
Songs about rainbows
And what's on the other side
Rainbows are visions
They're only illusions
And rainbows have nothing to hide
So we've been told and some chose to
Believe it
But I know they're wrong wait and see

Someday we'll find it
The Rainbow Connection
The lovers, the dreamers and me

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

