Mild Mastitis

I went to see Dr Urcuyo this morning to get myself checked out because my lymph nodes hurt and I'd gotten myself in a bit of a panic about galloping infections and abscesses and being forced to stop breast feeding cold turkey and other such drastic things.

He asked me how I felt.  I told him that I have a fever, sore breasts, and tender lymph nodes.  "You don't look very ill," he said.  He palpated my breasts.  "You have mild mastitis.  That's just how lactation is," he said, "how it's been since Adam and Eve came out of the garden."  He gave me yet another antibiotic, a milder one this time, and sent me on my way. 

So there we are.  I'm not dying and I don't have to wean immediately.  I don't quite believe Dr Urcuyo's theory that breastfeeding women have low-level infections just because, but it's a relief to find out that I'm not getting sicker.  I do feel lousy though and am likely to do so for the foreseeable future.  In some ways, therefore, having Dr Urcuyo say no more breastfeeding would also have been a relief because then I could stop dealing with the mastitis.

I will persevere on to Vancouver and will talk to my various people about possible cures for the last vestiges of the mastitis and about how to wean slowly without making the mastitis worse. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mild Mastitis

  1. Anya's Mom says:

    Oh no! I think I've freaked you out! I'm so sorry, but I am glad that your infection is mild. I really do hope that it clears up soon!

  2. Janette says:

    Oh, it wasn't you 🙂 I acquired a new pain in my lymph nodes and was imagining all kinds of dire things as a result. But the doctor assures me that it's just part of the mastitis, not a sign that I'm getting worse.Mild mastitis is a bit like mild morning sickness – you might not be in any serious trouble but it's awfully wearing when you're in the midst of it. I'm getting fed up with feeling lousy and it's making me a bit punchy.

Leave a Reply

