Sick Update the Second

I'm much better, but the mastitis is lingering stubbornly.  I still have a red line on my breast and I feel a bit hot and flushed.  My Ob/Gyn is threatening me with a forced end to breast feeding if the infection isn't completely gone in the next couple of days.  I really hope it doesn't come to that – it would be such a traumatic process for both Petra and me.  Petra loves to breast feed and I love feeding her.  It's a wonderfully intimate loving thing to do and I want to keep doing it for as long as I can.
 
I'm drinking gallons of water and pumping until my wrist hurts.  Cross fingers that today's injection will be the one to finish off the infection.

Read and post comments

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sick Update the Second

  1. Then says:

    I hope you get better! It is hard enough to stop breastfeeding when baby wants to, but to be forced to would be so much harder. I am sad about it every day that I can't breastfeed Sofia anymore.

  2. oOo says:

    Just catching up – I do hope the mastitis resolves and you get to keep bfing! Good luck with the next shot…

  3. Janette says:

    Thanks! I'm feeling mostly better now, thankfully. I told my doctor
    that I wanted to keep breast feeding so he gave me some oral
    antibiotics to follow the injections. I'm prepared to eat antibiotics
    like candy if that's what it takes. I think a forced weaning would be
    very traumatic for Petra – she just loves the boob for food and for
    comfort. And I would be sad as well.

  4. Janette says:

    Thanks! I'm feeling much better – I just hope this round of antibiotics kills the infection completely. It must have been hard for you when Sofia suddenly decided to stop – you didn't have time to get prepared and I imagine it feels a bit like you're being rejected, even though you most definitely aren't. How is the formula feeding going for you? It sounds as though Sofia's doing very well and growing like crazy.

Leave a Reply

