Sick Update

I'm feeling much improved after the course of antibiotics.  The red patches have nearly gone and my breast is only a little tender now.  My hip's a bit sore from the last injection but that's a small price to pay.  I'll see my doctor tomorrow afternoon.  Hopefully he'll give me a clean bill of health and I'll go on my way. 

But I intend to be a lot more careful about staying hydrated from now on because it's been a very unpleasant few days.

Just to add to the pleasures of my week, I got my very first period since February last year.  Why now, when I already feel lousy, I wonder.  Why not next week, or next month, or some other time?  Petra's still almost exclusively breast fed – I have the bags under my eyes to attest to the regularity of the feeds – so I hoped to avoid it for now.  But it's back with a vengeance. 

Petra's 7 1/2 months old now though, so I have had a good long break and don't really mind that it's started again.

Read and post comments

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sick Update

  1. Then says:

    Not that you really want to know, but I just got done with my first one, too, and it was about 4 days of HELL followed by four days of semi-hell. Whoever said that they are lighter and easier to deal with after a pregnancy was wrong.

  2. Janette says:

    Glad to hear it's not just me! Mine's heavy too – I feel hard-done-by…

  3. Roewan says:

    Nasty periods? Just wait until you hit perimenopause…

  4. Janette says:

    Being a woman is just one damn thing after another isn't it…I naively thought they'd just get lighter – obviously not!

  5. Roewan says:

    Totally unpredictable from one to the next. It's almost like being a teenager again, only without the slim figure. And you don't have to suddenly jump up and hobble cross-leggedly out of Math class.
    But it's different for everyone. Despite the periodic chaos, mine stayed on schedule (more or less) until the end. Maybe you'll be lucky.

  6. WorkingTitle says:

    Starting again after the LONG BREAK stinks! I hated it. What freedom to miss your period for over a year 🙂

  7. Janette says:

    Oh, you gave me flash backs to the trials of being a teenager. I don't want to go through that again….

  8. Janette says:

    Yes, it was so great not to have to worry about it and not to have to put up with feeling seedy and grumpy once a month.

Leave a Reply

