Moving On

We had such a wonderful time in Canada that it has really thrown into relief the difficulties of living here in San Jose. 
I've enjoyed my time here, but it's time to go.  Things that didn't bother me before, like the damp, the omnipresent bugs, and the language barrier are now annoying me.  And few weeks spent with friends and family makes our current isolation here and the fact that San Jose is not conducive to our lifestyle (no outdoor activities for Travis, no bookshops and libraries for me, no nice walkable neighbourhoods for either of us) much more apparent.

Until now I haven't minded this year's lack of company because Travis and I have been very busy getting to know Petra and getting to know ourselves as parents.  But Petra's bigger now and we're all ready to go back out into the world, or in Petra's case go into the world for the first time.  I want Petra to have lots of new experiences and know lots of people.  So we need to be where our people are. 

I'm also keen to have a real settled home base and to stop living like a student with temporary belongings in temporary homes.

We've decided to move to New Zealand, to Dunedin where most of my family are.  I'm a bit trepidatious about it because I've been away for nearly ten years and a whole lot will have changed in that time.  And of course some things, some of the reasons why I left in the first place, won't have changed.  But mostly I'm excited.  I imagine houses, gardens, cats, small children running around – a whole domestic idyll – and New Zealand's a great place for that.

Now that we've committed to leaving, I want to go right now, but Travis wants to leave his job in good order and we have to get rid of our car and furniture and work out how to ship what we want to keep.  We also have to go back to Vancouver to deal with the storage locker full of stuff we have there.  We left a lot behind when we moved because we weren't sure how long our stay here would last.  At the moment, therefore, we're planning to leave here mid September, spend some time in Vancouver and maybe Saskatoon, and be in Dunedin by mid October.

Travis will be able to continue working at his current job remotely from Dunedin.  He'll just have to be up at odd hours skyping his colleagues in South Africa and Costa Rica.  That's a relief because Dunedin, with its population of 120,000ish, is not a hotbed of high-tech jobs.  It's a university town, not a corporate centre.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Moving On

  1. Then says:

    Yay for going to New Zealand! I want to go. Another Voxer on here, lozzykiwi, is moving back to NZ this autumn. I think she is going to the North Island. I visited Dunedin two years ago. It seemed like a nice place to live. It is funny that I just read this. Tom and I today are looking at using the very last of our miles to buy tickets to New Zealand for next year…turns out that he is 510 miles short in his account so we may have to figure out how to transfer some over from my account. I think we are planning on spending a majority of our time on the South Island (but flying into Auckland because we have no other choice).
    I know how you feel about Petra getting older and that you want some of your people around. I sometimes feel homesick for my family and really wished Sofia could see them more often than once or twice a year.
    Your move sounds like a logistical nightmare. I have been through it when we moved from Germany to Yorkshire. We had a shipment coming from Germany, one from our house in the US (stuff we never ever thought would come here) and from a storage locker in the south of England.
    I, too, would like to stop living temporarily! My own house with all of my own things. A garden, walls painted the colour I want, etc. Heaven.
    I hope it all goes well for you. Keep us updated on how things are going. And I am so jealous that you are going to live in NZ. I may show up to visit next spring 😉

  2. Tasha_Tuk says:

    That sounds great! I need to find me a job like that 🙂

  3. Anya's Mom says:

    We visited Dunedin for about 1.5 days a few years ago. I was sick that day, but I do remember that it was quite lovely! That's where the Cadbury factory is, right? I LOVE Cadbury, but can't get it as frequently as I would like living in the states. Anyway, I am happy for you and your family!

  4. Roewan says:

    Looks like I won't be able to fit in a visit with you in Costa Rica after all! That's ok, I think I'm more interested in visiting NZ anyway.
    I'm glad you're stopping here before you move way way over to the other side of the world. Assuming the timing works out, I'll come to the Mainland while you're here.

  5. Janette says:

    Lucky you having enough miles to get all the way to NZ – I used all mine up before I left Canada and haven't flown Star Alliance since, so I'm not accruing any right now.Yes, the move will be a logistical pain. I'm trying not to think about it too much in case my head explodes. I don't think shipping will be much trouble (although it seems as though it will be ruinously expensive), it's getting rid of the stuff we're not shipping that will be the hassle. We need to keep using our appliances, for example, but we have to sell them as well. Not sure how we're going to get around that.I'm excited about having a home. Travis and I have this fantasy of being based in NZ and travelling /living in Europe for a few months each year. I want to settle but I don't want to give up travelling and that would give us the best of both worlds.Should you find yourself in Dunedin, I'd love to meet you in person….

  6. Janette says:

    Yes, Dunedin has the Cadbury's factory – it fills up the whole centre of town with yummy cocoa smells. It's funny what you remember about a town when you do a quick visit. Where else did you go in NZ?

  7. Janette says:

    I think we'll be in Vancouver for 3 weeks or so in late Sept/early Oct – lots of time for visiting as well as packing. Or so I hope – I'd love to see you before we go dashing off to the other side of the world.

  8. Janette says:

    Thanks! Travis is really lucky to have a portable job. As long as he can skype and email and conference he can be pretty much anywhere.

Leave a Reply

