And Now for Something Completely Different

Having a child of my own seems to have triggered a massive attack of nostalgia.  My already scattered head is made even more so by a constant buzz of half-remembered music from my childhood.  I find myself singing snatches of songs to Petra and having to track them down on Youtube.  Thank god for Youtube, without it I'd be driven crazy trying to remember lyrics, titles, and bands.

One of the odder things to have popped into my head is:

Songs by the Wombles.  The North Americans in the group probably won't have heard of them because they're a very English phenomenon.  They were created by Elizabeth Beresford, who wrote a series of books about them that I loved as a small child.  They're furry creatures who live in a burrow under Wimbleton Common in London and clean up the rubbish from the common.  They were ecologically aware in the 70's.

The Wombles (Take Part)
Elisabeth Beresford

The BBC made a series of stop motion animated shorts.

And someone decided that what the world needed was singing wombles and released a massively successful album in the early 70's.  I tracked down some videos and surprised (dismayed?) myself by remembering many of the words to the songs.  I've been playing them for Petra – she's my excuse anyway….

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to And Now for Something Completely Different

  1. Carla says:

    Ahhhh the wombles!!! Olivia liked the video clips but now I'm going to spend the rest of the day with "oh womble to your partners young wombles were told…" in my head. Cheers for that 🙂

  2. Janette says:

    You're most welcome!! :)I've been singing "remember, member, member what a womble womble womble you are" over and over whether I like it or not for days, so I feel your pain.

  3. Roewan says:

    Exactly what we all need, singing polar bears with anteater noses wearing funny hats and scarves… now let me track down a Friendly Giant clip.

  4. Hey- one of my best ways to prove my age is to sing the theme from the old Banana Splits TV show.One of the better reasons to have kids, I say, is to be able to trot out the gold old stuff.

Leave a Reply

