The Perils of Housework

Life's been a bit hectic at my place this morning.  I opened the vertical blinds in the spare bedroom and the pelmet, or cornice, or whatever it's called, fell down with a crash, hitting my hand on its way by.  It's now lying in several pieces on the bedroom floor and I'm nursing a bruised thumb.

After a restorative cup of tea, I started in on the laundry, beginning with a pile of dirty nappies.  When I moved them, I found that the bottom of the tub they'd been sitting in was black with crawling ants.  It was like something out of a horror film.  You know that moment when the violin screeches and you know you're about to see something nasty and gory?  It was like that.  I washed the ants down the drain and washed the nappies in the hottest, soapiest water I  could produce, but I still feel creepy and itchy a couple of hours and a shower later.

I've given up on housework and am listening to This Sceptered Isle (a history of Britain) on the BBC – I figure sitting quietly in my lounge is the safest thing to do….

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Perils of Housework

  1. Zotta says:

    Sounds like an awful morning, Janette! I'm glad you knew to get tea.I have a microwave, hotpot and am using bathroom sink for a kitchen sink. When I used the hotpot for the first time, it was still wet from its inauguralwashing, and I couldn't find a safe surface to put it down because they said it'd "smoke" the first time. So I was boiling water while holding it up in theair in my bathroom, thinking I'd win the Darwin Award for killing myself in the stupidest possibly way! It boiled really fast. Best cup of tea I ever tastedalone. Later I learned you can boil it on top of a cardboard box if you want, but that's the kind of thing I obsess over when I'm alone.

  2. Janette says:

    As I was flushing all the ants down the drain, I realised that my morning would make a good vox post. Once I thought that it all got much easier!The image of you standing in your bathroom holding up a smoking hotpot is a funny one!! What's with your kitchen though? Does your place not have one?

  3. Ah, motherhood. Eventually you go through all sorts of trials that are every bit as horrific as any Sinbad movie, if not as cinematically appealing.(Of course I mean the old b&w epic movies, not the unfunny comedian with the fashion sense of a lost Cosby.)I remember things like going to catch my dear child's incipient vomit in my hand rather than let it fall on the car's newly-cleaned interior. Once you realize that the point is getting through that moment with whatever needs to be done you can zone out of the ick factor of it all and focus on the task(s) at hand. Eventually said child will inevitably get so darned cute again that you'll pretty much forget about it anyway.Oh, and when Petra's old enough to come running up to you, quit getting tall glasses of any fluid. You'll find that no sooner have you taken one sip but your darling will run up and beg for a sip. Personally, I couldn't stand making the decision between drinking an almost-full glass of pure backwash or throwing away "perfectly good" food.But that's me. Don't say I didn't warn you.

  4. Roewan says:

    It's spring. I have noticed things around the house always go completely nuts in the spring. Prior years we've have Squirrels filling up a chimney with nesting materials, Flickers pounding holes into the siding, Nuthatches excavating under the eaves, Crows storing food on our roof, and Raccoons doing acrobatics in the tree outside our back door to amuse the Dogs who didn't quite get the joke and thought we being invaded by Monsters from Mars.
    This week I found that one of my houseplants has been nurturing tiny insects that have suddenly had a massive population explosion and also learned to fly.

  5. Janette says:

    I'm okay with critters with fur or feathers; I'm distinctly not okay with crawling, leggy, insect critters. As well as the ants, we get the odd cockroach downstairs and all kinds of smaller crawly things – I'm a bit twitchy about going down there at night, which can make getting a drink or snack tricky.

  6. Roewan says:

    I don't really mind the insects so much although I do dislike having them in the house. What really drives me crazy is mice – filthy little sneaky things. They seem to be able to get through the tiniest of holes, chew on everything, and contaminate everywhere they creep with their urine. Yech!

  7. Janette says:

    It's funny how quickly you get over the gross-out factor. Already, after only 4 months, Travis and I are old hands at puke, poo, and pee. We used to cringe and flap ineffectually, now we just sort it out. Things might change once Petra starts eating solid food though….To drink or not to drink, now there's a conundrum I hadn't thought of. Thanks for that! 🙂

  8. Janette says:

    Yech indeed. There speaks the voice of experience! I've never lived anywhere with mice, or if I did all the cats I had kept them in check.

Leave a Reply

