A Song…

Trawling Youtube for songs for Petra that won't drive me crazy, I bumped into Radiohead's cover of Nobody Does It Better.  Petra was indifferent, but I've been keen on it for years.  I love the way they ugly up the song, making it more raw and messy, and I love Thom Yorke's voice.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Song…

  1. Roewan says:

    I like this version too. There's more angst. Hey, I never noticed it before but Thom Yorke kinda looks like David Tennant.

  2. Janette says:

    Radiohead are nothing if not good at angst!Yeah, he does a bit. Must be the sticky out ears and the floppy hair that does it. Thom Yorke's can be kind of funny looking, but he's cute in this video.

  3. I know my dearest Girlzilla was huge on musicals for awhile and went on a massive Wizard of Oz bender that took ages to dispel. Maybe Rocky Horror would be good for Petra? :)As for Radiohead, I go into phases where I drown in Thom Yorke and something supremely silly comes along to break the spell. Last time I was in a Radiohead jag the crushing blow was Alanis Morisette's version of "My Humps".Really hope Petra doesn't go for that one.

  4. Janette says:

    I've had "I'm off to see the wizard…" stuck in my head since I read your comment. I'd be happier with the Time Warp….I'm very fond of the Rocky Horror Picture Show – all that campiness, Tim Curry in fishnets, it's all good. It'd be a bit scary if Petra started singing about being a sweet transvestite though!"My Humps" huh, poor you. Alanis Morisette's version was so damn odd that I just couldn't look away. I'm trying hard not to get it in my head right now…

Leave a Reply

