QotD: My 10 Things

What are 10 things you've done that other people probably haven't? 
Submitted by Janette.   

I've had a look at some of the responses to this – Voxers lead exciting lives.  Me, not so much, but here goes anyway.

1) I grew up in a small hydro village that was tucked away in forested valley in New Zealand.  There were about 100 residents.  I knew everyone and everyone knew me.

2) We were evacuated from the village by the NZ army after heavy rains caused the river to top its banks and part of the hillside to slide away taking a house with it.

3) Submitted my MA thesis the day before I left for Canada.

4) Learned to ski at 30.  Took up rock climbing at 31.

5) Emigrated to Canada with no prospects, no contacts, and $8000 to my name.  It worked out. I got the very first job I interviewed for and met my husband and some good friends there.

6) Left footprints on a freshly cemented driveway in a small town in Morocco.  Accidently – we got off-track in the dark.  The town had no streetlights, no electricity even, except for individual generators, so when I say dark, I mean can't see the road in front of you, could fall down a bank dark.

7) Drove myself home from Whistler to Vancouver after having my collarbone broken by a reckless snowboarder on Whistler mountain.  It was my right shoulder and the car was a manual model.

8) Got married 4 August 2006 in Vancouver; packed up our house and moved to Costa Rica 12 August 2006.

9) My little family consists of a Canadian, a Costa Rican, and a New Zealander who also holds a Canadian passport.

10) Had a drug-free labour even though I was induced and had contractions every three minutes for the whole 11 hours.  This is not so uncommon perhaps, but it's something I'm very proud of.  

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to QotD: My 10 Things

  1. oOo says:

    Sounds pretty exciting to me!

  2. Carla says:

    You've been a busy voxer lately!! What a cool life you lead, not sure I could come up with 10 things 🙂

  3. Janette says:

    Oh, I think you could. It's not everyone who worked as a carny in Oz, driving all over Queensland and wrestling with the bugs, and who hung out with all the freaky people in your Perth hostel. Your list might not be family-friendly though!! 🙂

  4. Janette says:

    thanks!! This was a fun question to answer because I got to think about the out-of-the-way parts of my life.

Leave a Reply

