Petra’s Books

I don't get to read many novels these days, but I'm well up on my board books.  We have a large and increasing stack of children's books and I try to read a couple to Petra every day.  At first she paid very little attention, but we persevered and now she responds.  She even has favorites.  Polar Bear, Polar Bear, What Do You Hear? is one.  The sight and sound of me trying desperately to flute like a flamingo, bellow like a walrus, and trumpet like an elephant among other things, seems to amuse her greatly.

Petra's other favorite is One Lonely Kakapo.  It's a counting book featuring New Zealand's eccentric wildlife.  She loves the complexity and bright colours of the illustrations.  And she gets to hear fine-sounding Maori words like kakapo, tuatara, and takahe.  Amazon doesn't have a preview for it, so I can't show you all the cover.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Petra’s Books

  1. Carla says:

    Think I might need a video of you fluting like a flamingo and bellowing like a walrus. Gotta love kids books!!

  2. Janette says:

    It's all Roewan's fault. She sent us the book…I'm thinking that I'll be keeping my fluting and bellowing and trumpeting under wraps – it's not pretty!!

Leave a Reply

