Guilty Pleasure

A question of the day from a few days ago asked us to identify a guilty pleasure.  I couldn't think of one at the time, but now I can.  I'm sitting here on my chair doing the "keeping Petra upright for 15 minutes in an often vain attempt to stop her puking" part of the feed.  And I noticed that I was singing The Gourds' cover of the Snoop Dogg song Gin and Juice.  It's an inspired country version of a rap song, complete with mandolin and southern twang, which is hugely catchy and chirpy.  It also contains nasty misogynistic lyrics.  So I'm singing lines like: 

Two in the mornin and the partys still jumpin
Cause my momma aint home
I got bitches in the living room gettin it on
And, they aint leavin til six in the mornin (six in the mornin)
So what you wanna do,
I got a pocket full of rubbers and my homeboys do too
So turn off the lights and close the doors
But (but what) we dont love them hoes, yeah!
So we gonna smoke a ounce to this
Gs up, hoes down, while you motherfuckers bounce to this

Definitely a guilty pleasure!

Here's the song from Youtube.  The video's home-made-by-a-fan affair….

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Guilty Pleasure

  1. oOo says:

    Awesome! I hadn't heard that cover, but who needs Mother Goose with Snoop around, anyway?

  2. Janette says:

    Thank you for sharing! I listened to it as I was typing and it was quite catchy. I vaguely remember the original version and it gave me a good chuckle.

  3. Roewan says:

    This is disgusting. Really bad. Actually I don't mind the lyrics, it's that awful nasal twang. Like fingernails on a blackboard. Makes my teeth hurt.
    Congrats on the 8-hour milestone!

  4. Janette says:

    Funny. It's the nasal twang that appeals to me – it's just so incongruous.Thanks for the congrats. Petra's sleeping again at the moment, on her own in bed at that. I'm not quite sure what to do with all the free time; I'm not used to it any more.

  5. Janette says:

    Indeed! Poor Petra – she'll be scarred by my terrible taste. And she'll be frightening her grandmothers and getting kicked out of pre-school for swearing if I don't get my singing under control.

  6. Janette says:

    I'm glad you were entertained! I heard the cover first and had to go search out the Snoop Dogg version. I like The Gourds' effort much better than the original.

Leave a Reply

