Success

I've gone six weeks without reading a novel and was getting very twitchy about it.  So I'm very excited that I managed to read a couple of non-mummy books this week while Petra slept on my lap in the afternoons.  I'm not sure that I'm a very good reader yet because my eyes tend to blur and my head nods, but I made it through Rumpole Misbehaves by John Mortimer and Clouds of Witness by Dorothy L Sayers.

Clouds of Witness Rumpole Misbehaves: A Novel (Rumpole Novels)

I'm very fond of Rumpole but this latest one seemed a bit thin.  Of course it might be my concentration that's thin and not the book.  I'll have to read it again once Petra's sleeping all night (I hope that's weeks or months away, not years) and I'm getting enough sleep to have a fully functional brain.  Clouds of Witness didn't disappoint.  I haven't read it for years and couldn't remember exactly who dunnit, so I got the pleasure of trying to unravel the mystery again.  And the pleasure of spending time with Lord Peter, who's a really appealing character.     

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Success

  1. Zotta says:

    That's realy excellent! Hoep you enjoy reading more as you start feeling better….

  2. Carla says:

    Yay for grown up books!! Its nice to be able to have time to read again, now if Petra would just sleep all night for you…. 🙂

  3. Janette says:

    Thanks!! If I don't read I get all antsy, so I'm fitting it in where I can, even when my brain is fuzzy….

  4. Janette says:

    🙂 Last night she slept from 1 until 7 so progress is being made! She's quit sleeping in bed during the day though – I'm now carrying her round with me all day.

Leave a Reply

