Happy New Year

We spent our new year's eve, like most new parents I imagine, at home with the baby.  Petra ate her way into 2008, then ate again before falling asleep around 2am.  She's dropped her middle of the night feed though and slept through until 7, giving me a five hour break.  Bliss it is to sleep for five hours!!

At six weeks old, she's much more demonstrative and interactive than she was even a couple of weeks ago.  She smiles at everything, even blank walls, and has developed quite the repertoire of grunts, gurgles, squeaks, and coos.   I'm impressed by how much she can communicate with only facial expressions and cries.  She tells me when she wants fed by making intense eye contact followed up with lots of lip smacking and sucking noises.  And she lets me know how she wants me to hold her by leaning and grunting.  There's a lot of personality in that tiny body!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy New Year

  1. oOo says:

    Congrats on the sleep! She's adorable.

  2. Roewan says:

    I had no idea babies were already so adept at communicating at six weeks old! She's adorable – what a great picture.

  3. Janette says:

    Thanks! Sleep is good. I'm grabbing it whenever I can, even if that means sleeping all morning. I hope we eventually get to settle into a proper sleep at night and stay up during the day routine though. I miss breakfast time!

  4. Janette says:

    I'm getting better at working the camera so the pictures are better. And Petra's a good subject of course :)Petra does her best to communicate, but I'm not always so good at figuring out what she's saying. It can be difficult to tell the difference between the "my stomach hurts, fix it mum!" and the "now I'm starving, feed me mum!" cries. There's no doubt though about the "mum, get a grip" look she gives me when I'm wrong.

Leave a Reply

