What Were You Doing Nine Years Ago?

Over at the Whatever, John Scalzi has a post up celebrating his ninth year as a blogger.  He's included a video for Madonna's song, Ray of Light.

I'm not a huge Madonna fan, but Ray of Light is one song of hers that I like very much.  Listening to it this morning took me right back to 1998.  I remember hearing it in the gym and discussing the song with my trainer between reps – he thought she'd done a good job interpreting the current dance music thing.  And I remember pulling into my driveway one night with it playing on the radio and sitting in the car in the dark until the song had finished.

1998 was a big year for me.  Nine years ago this month I was four months away from leaving New Zealand for Vancouver.  I was three months away from handing in my thesis.  I was getting ready to pack all my stuff into my parents' garage.  I was beginning the rounds of goodbye parties and dinners.  I had handed in my notice at work.

My god!! - I've been away from New Zealand for nearly nine years.  I still feel so attached to Dunedin that it doesn't seem that long to me, but my personal New Zealand stopped at the end of the last millennium.  When I left, I had no idea that I'd be away for almost a decade.  I plan to move back there, am always on the verge of it in fact, but so far, there's always been something else to do, somewhere new to go, first.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

