The Big Reveal

I'm back from my appointment with my Ob/Gyn.  He tells me that the baby is well and growing at just the right rate.  And he gave me the ultrasound pictures to bring home.  They're quite small and were hard to copy, but here's one of the 3-D pictures of the face.  The baby put its hands up as Dr Aragon created the image – very cute!

I also have the picture that identifies the baby's sex for those clever enough to read it.  Dr Aagon zoomed in on the abdomen then looked expectantly at Travis, as if the image would be as clear to him as it was to her.  It wasn't, so she pointed out the baby's labia, clear as clear once we knew what we were looking at.  Yes, it's a girl!  I was sure it was a boy for some reason, so I was surprised and very excited to meet a little girl for the first time.

The spiral on the left of the picture is the umbilical cord.  It reminds me of a koru – a stylized fern head – which is appropriate since the koru is a symbol of new life and growth.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Big Reveal

  1. Janette says:

    Aww! Congrats. Girls are great…plus there's nothing cuter than a sweet, little dress. Thanks for sharing your news!

  2. Luna Lunera says:

    So cute! I love that 3D picture. You already know she has chubby cheeks!
    Congratulations!

  3. Tasha_Tuk says:

    Woohoo!! congrats, that is so great 🙂

  4. Carla says:

    Wow the 3D picture is great!!

  5. Carla says:

    There was more to that message not sure where it went??
    Now I can't remember what I wrote (how annoying!) I'll try again…
    Wow the 3D picture is great!! Its very cool to see her like that before she has even come into the world. The other pic is very cool too but not so easy to see which bits you are looking at 🙂
    Its soooo exciting – thats my niece!!!

  6. Janette says:

    Thanks everyone – the 3-D picture and finding out the baby's sex makes it much more real and exciting.

Leave a Reply

