A Trip Down Amnesia Lane….

I meandered around on YouTube this morning and found a few classics from the 80's music scene in NZ.  I was a bit young (really, I was!) to catch a lot of these bands live at the beginning of their careers.  But I did my best once I started university, standing around trying to look old (the legal drinking age was 20 at the time) when the police raided the pubs so that I could see The Bats and The Verlaines, The 3Ds, The Clean, Straitjacket Fits et al.   They're still great after all this time!  And check out the funky art school videos shot for about $2 with someone's Super 8 camera.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Trip Down Amnesia Lane….

  1. Carla says:

    Ah the memories!! Janette, her records and some very weird music 🙂

  2. Janette says:

    I'm sure being subjected to these bands as a kid helped make you the fine upstanding citizen you are today!!! 🙂

  3. gaspode says:

    Memory Lane indeed (although I have she speeds on dvd somewhere). You didn't find the Verlaines Death and the Maiden one?

  4. Janette says:

    Lucky you having SJF to look at. I have no videos – I didn't think to keep them and I kick myself about it often. Thanks for the Verlaines video link. I'd really like Slow Sad Love Song but I couldn't find it on Youtube.

Leave a Reply

