QotD: 2006’s Resolutions

What were your New Year's resolutions for 2006?  How did you do?

I don't make New Year's resolutions but I did achieve some things in 2006 that I've been working towards for a long time.  I became a Canadian citizen – almost exactly 7 years after I first arrived in Canada.  I went down to the Immigration Offices near GM Place at the beginning of February to swear to do my duty as a Canadian citizen.  In return I received a certificate and a cheesy laminated ID card ( a big comedown from the high tech ID for permanent residency).  Each person in the room said the oath individually in more or less shaky English.  We sang the national anthem in English and French, complete with hockey cheers from some of the guests (they were frowned into silence by the ushers).  And the presiding judge gave a nice speech congratulating us on persevering through the difficulties of adjusting to a new culture and home, and welcoming us to our new lives.  I was surprised by how moved I was by the experience.  I'd been telling myself that I was pretty blase about it, but when my turn came to make my declaration I teared up.


And Travis and I got married on August 4.  We've been together for almost as long as I've been in Canada – we finally married about 7 years after we first started dating and 2 years after we got engaged.  Easing in gently we were.  One of the reasons for the delay was that I was chicken about organising a big party and about standing up in front of everyone to reveal my feelings for Travis. I figured that I'd cry everywhere and feel uncomfortable.

But I loved my wedding day.   It turned out that most everyone cried and no one was uncomfortable.  The venue, Hycroft House, was fabulous, the food was yummy (although I didn't eat any of it until after the reception ended – I was too busy and hyper to eat), and I think we all had fun.  I certainly did.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to QotD: 2006’s Resolutions

  1. Roewan says:

    Getting broader?!

  2. Janette says:

    Yep, post miscarriage I'm a couple of feet wider across the beam, or that's how it feels anyway. All my clothes are tight…..

  3. Roewan says:

    Ah! Well, I thought you might mean…

  4. Janette says:

    Ah, of course. It's a tag line for all occasions. Didn't think of that when I wrote it though – just of my dismay at my abrupt change from skinny to squishy.

Leave a Reply

