Christmas Books

Travis and I went shopping today to get each other presents.  We thought the mall would be crazy busy, full of panicky last-minute shoppers, but it wasn't overly crowded and no one seemed particularly stressed which made for an easier than expected trip.  We knew what we wanted and staged a successful guerrilla shopping campaign – in and out quick and no one got hurt.  I am now the proud owner of seven of the thickest books I could find in MultiPlaza's Libreria Internacional bookstore.  And Travis has a handful of new Calvin Klein t-shirts. 

The Forsyte Saga: Volume 1: The Man of Property, and, In Chancery, and, To Let A Passage to India (Penguin Classics) Pride and Prejudice (Penguin Classics) David Copperfield: The Personal History of David Copperfield (Penguin Classics) The Woman in White (Penguin Classics) The City of Falling Angels Changing Places

I'm already half-way through one of the books, David Lodge's Changing Places, because I have no will power.  So we don't have nicely wrapped parcels to open on Christmas Day.  I'm excited to get the books though, wrapping or no wrapping, because keeping up with my reading habit is difficult and expensive without a public library.  I'm constantly in danger of running out of reading material which makes me surprisingly tense.  I wonder what I would do in a place with no books – either write a lot myself or go crazy I suppose.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas Books

  1. Roewan says:

    I was once traveling in northern Portugal with my sister and there was not a word of writing in English to be found anywhere. I had already read and re-read every scrap of paper with English on it that we had with us. In desperation I resorted to puzzling through Portuguese language newspapers. It's actually easier than you would think. I started with captions under pictures. Spending 20 minutes working on one caption seemed to alleviate the need-to-read stress and I'm sure it was good exercise for the brain too.

  2. Janette says:

    Good idea. I actually got myself a Spanish copy of Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (HP y la piedra filosofal) not long after I arrived here. Even with help from Babelfish I was about 30 minutes reading the first paragraph – all the variations of "to be" disheartened me and I quit. Now that my vocabulary's a bit bigger I might try again.

Leave a Reply

