Book Geeking

I found a very cool website yesterday, cool that is if you're a geeky book person like me, called LibraryThing.  It allows you to catalogue (or catalog if you're American) your book collection.  I don't have many of my books here in San Jose but the few that I do have are now listed on LibraryThing, complete with pictures of their covers.  The covers are a very satisfying thing, reminding me as they do of the treasures inside the books and the pleasures I've had reading them.  I'm hooked.  Here's the cover of the edition of Bleak House that I'm currently reading.

The site's not just a private database though, it has a social component.  You can see what's in other people's libraries, chat, write book reviews, and you can get selections and recommendations based on the combinations of books in the various libraries, ie people who own Bleak House for example tend also to own books A, B, and C.  It's very accurate, much more so than Amazon's "people who bought this, also bought that" recommendation tool.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Book Geeking

  1. Tasha_Tuk says:

    OMG my husband is going to love this!!!
    Thank you for posting it!!

  2. Janette says:

    My very first comment!!! You're welcome!!

  3. Tasha_Tuk says:

    I guess I will come clean and admit that I kinda like the idea as well, seeing as how I am an almost library technician 🙂

  4. Janette says:

    An almost library technician? Sounds intriguing!

  5. Tasha_Tuk says:

    I currently (sometimes) take courses so I can become a Library Technician. Right now I am a library clerk (low on the hierarchy), the next level is the technician, and eventually (I hope one day to become) is the librarian.
    I am doing my course part time on line. So when I have money I take a class, when I don't have money, I don't take a class. 🙂

  6. Janette says:

    I've looked at library studies courses before but was put off by the cost. Doing it piecemeal on line is a great idea.

  7. Tasha_Tuk says:

    http://www.mohawkcollege.ca/dept/disted/ and if you click the library program on the right side, it will show you the program. There may be others that do it online, and I do know that some of the students in my program are from other countries.

  8. Janette says:

    thanks very much for the link. I'll check it out….

Leave a Reply

